Alert Section

Latest News

Leader and Cabinet announced

Published: 22/05/2017

Councillor Aaron Shotton has been re-elected Leader of Flintshire County Council at the Annual Meeting onThursday 18 May. A member of Flintshire County Council since 1999, Councillor Shotton was elected Leader in May 2012 following the Local Government Elections. Cllr Shotton has also held the Cabinet responsibility for Finance since May 2012. He represents the Connahs Quay Central Ward. He has been a member of Connahs Quay Town Council since 1996 and at that time was the youngest Labour Councillor in the UK. He also served Connahs Quay as Chairman of the Town Council in 2003. Councillor Shotton is also the Deputy Leader and Spokesperson for Finance and Resources on the Welsh Local Government Association and is a Member of the Partnership Council for Wales and LGA Resources Board. Councillor Bernie Attridge has been re-elected Deputy Leader. A member of the County Council since 2004, Councillor Attridge was elected Deputy Leader in May 2012 following the Local Government Elections. Councillor Attridge held the Cabinet responsibility for Environment from 2012 to 2017. He represents the Connah’s Quay Central Ward and is a member of Connah’s Quay Town Council. He is also the Director of NEW Homes, an affordable housing company set up by Flintshire County Council. Cabinet members have been announced as: Finance – Cllr Aaron Shotton Streetscene and Countryside – Cllr Carolyn Thomas Economic Development – Cllr Derek Butler Planning and Public Protection – Cllr Chris Bithell Housing – Cllr Bernie Attridge Education and Youth – Cllr Ian Roberts Social Services – Cllr Christine Jones Corporate Management and Assets – Cllr Billy Mullin