Alert Section

Latest News

Celebrating Healthy Schools

Published: 14/07/2017

The Flintshire Healthy Schools annual Celebration of Achievement event took place recently at Ysgol Gwynedd, Flint. This uplifting and inspiring event is organised by the Healthy Schools team, which is part of the Council’s Education and Youth portfolio. For the second year running, the event was celebrated jointly with the Flintshire Primary School Games Association. The event recognises the achievements of schools in all aspects of health education and sport. Pupils from schools across the county attended to receive their awards from the Vice Chairman of the Council, Councillor Paul Cunningham, accompanied by his Consort, Mrs Joan Cunningham, Cabinet Member for Education and Youth, Councillor Ian Roberts and Interim Chief Officer for Education and Youth, Claire Homard. Kate Fox-Parry, Chair of Flintshire Primary Schools Games Association and Head of Ysgol Cae’r Nant, welcomed everyone to the event which included a polished performance from Ysgol Croes Atti Choir, a skipping demonstration by Ysgol Gwynedd, presentations from Wood Memorial CP School on what it means to be a “Healthy School”, from Ysgol Mynydd Isa entitled “Playful Futures” as well as a presentation from Ysgol Bryn Deva called “Touching the Sky” and an outstanding dance performance from Mountain Lane School. Councillor Cunningham presented the County Team Sports Awards, saying: “Today highlights the excellent work which is happening in all our schools across the County. There are a wide range of sports covered including rounders, hockey, football, athletics, cricket, rugby and netball. Events such as this show the ongoing commitment to the Healthy Schools Scheme – well done to everyone involved.“ Claire Homard then presented the Healthy Schools Awards to 12 schools. The biggest awards of the morning were the presentations of the National Quality Award for Healthy Schools. Two schools, Wood Memorial CP School and Ysgol Bryn Deva, achieved accreditation and one school was successfully re-accredited for 2016/17 – Ysgol Mynydd Isa. On presenting the awards, Claire Homard, said: “The National Quality Award is the highest accolade in the scheme and schools must complete five phases before being eligible for the award – on average this can take 10 years to achieve! The National Quality Award involves developing a whole-school approach to issues that impact health and wellbeing; they include seven different health themes ranging from Emotional Health, Food and Fitness to Environment and Safety. “A huge congratulations to all schools on such an achievement!” Alongside the Healthy School awards, there were special presentations for William Norman from Mountain Lane School and Evan Withe from Ysgol Owen Jones who were both awarded Male Most Promising Sportsperson 2017 and Mayzee Davies from Ysgol Gwynedd for Female Most Promising Sportsperson award. This year’s Outstanding Contribution to Sport in Flintshire was awarded to Mr Neil Williams for his contribution and dedication to Flintshire junior rugby over the past 16 years. Councillor Ian Roberts said: “This is a very special celebration event. It is important that we recognise the sporting achievements of children and young people and celebrate the county’s talented athletes. “The Healthy Schools Scheme has been running for 15 years in Flintshire and it goes from strength to strength. It’s wonderful to see the children so engaged and enthusiastic about this inspirational scheme.” FULL RESULTS Flintshire County Team Sports Awards 1. Rounders Champions 2017 - Mountain Lane and Golftyn 2. Hockey Champions 2017 – Wood Memorial CP 3. Small School Indoor Athletics Champions 2017 – Wood Memorial CP 4. Large School Indoor Athletics Champions 2017 – Ysgol Bryn Coch 5. Kwik Cricket Champions 2017 – Ysgol Owen Jones 6. Rugby Champions 2017 – Ysgol Derwen 7. Netball League Champions 2017 – Ysgol Glanrafon 8. Netball Cup Champions 2017 - Ysgol Maes y Felin Football 1. Hardwick Shield 2017 – Ewloe Green CP 2. Ron Bishop Champions 2017 – Ewloe Green CP 3. Tom Roberts Champions 2017 – Ewloe Green CP 4. Elwyn Owen Champions 2017 – Ysgol Bryn Coch Healthy Schools Awards 1. Troi Rownd P.R.U 2. The Learning Centre PRU 3. Drury Primary School 4. Northop Hall C.P 5. Ysgol Bro Carmel 6. Ysgol Bryn Pennant 7. St Winefride’s Catholic Primary School 8. Ysgol yr Esgob TBC 9. Ysgol Glan Aber 10. Sandycroft C.P 11. Venerable Edward Morgan 12. Sealand