Alert Section

Latest News

And the winner is….

Published: 29/10/2014

The winners of this year’s Flintshire Business Awards have been announced. Now in its eighth year, the Awards recognise the most successful and fastest growing companies in the county and the entrepreneurs behind them. Accolades were handed out at a ceremony in Soughton Hall last Friday 17 October in ten categories sponsored by local companies many of whom are previous winners. It was a great night for Paul Rutt and B2 Group. The CEO won Business Person of the Year and his company, a leading Xerox Concessionaire, formed in 1991, also won Business of the Year with up to 50 employees. The Environment award went to Mold-based P&A Group, an award winning garden landscaping company. Sean Finley, trainee at MPI Aviation Ltd picked up the Apprenticeship award. Exporter of the Year went to Jones Environmental Laboratory, a forensics company in Hawarden and the Manufacturing award was won by Unifrax Emission Control Europe Ltd. Business of the Year over 50 employees went to FTS Hatswell, Deeside based storage and distribution company while the Innovation award was won by Wagtail for Conservation Dogs, a centre for the training of anti-poaching and wildlife detection dogs. The Social and Community award goes to Dangerpoint, an indoor education activity centre based in Talacre and finally the Start Up Business award went to The Boardroom Climbing, an indoor climbing wall in Queensferry that has just celebrated its first anniversary. Councillor Derek Butler, Cabinet Member for Economic Development said: “The Flintshire Business Awards recognise the high calibre of businesses in the area. It’s a great way to end Flintshire Business Week by celebrating some great local achievements. Congratulations to all our winners and many thanks to the sponsors who help make the awards bigger and better each year.” Jonathan Turner, managing director of AGS Security Systems, the headline sponsor of this year’s awards, and sponsor of the Business Person of the year award said: “It is wonderful to hear so many success stories in the region, and to be surrounded by so many businesses who are ‘on the up’. “On behalf of everyone at AGS Security, I’d like to congratulate all the prize-winners and I look forward to supporting Flintshire business into the future.” The winners and sponsors of the ten categories are listed below: Award Sponsor Winner Business Person of the year AGS Security Systems Paul Rutt B2 Group Apprenticeship Award Coleg Cambria Sean Finley MPI Aviation Limited Environment Award Port of Mostyn P & A Group Exporter of the Year Award Knauf Insulation Jones Environmental Laboratory Innovation Award Glyndwr University Wagtail - Conservation Dogs Business of the Year up to 50 Federation of Small Business B2 Group Social & Community Award North Wales Economic Ambition Board Dangerpoint Manufacturing Award Edge Transport Unifrax Emission Control Europe Ltd Business of the Year over 50 Pochin FTS Hatswell Start Up Business Award DSG The Boardroom Climbing For more information about Flintshire Business Awards contact Kate Catherall on 01352 703221 or take a look at the website Photo captions Manufacturing Award - Jonathan Edge - Edge Transport (sponsor) Alan Blythe - Unifrax Emission Control Europe Ltd (winner), Nikki Edge - Edge Transport (sponsor) Innovation and Creativity Award – Aran Clyne and Louise Wilson from Wagtail - Conservation Dogs (winner) and Professor Chris Jones from Glyndwr University (sponsor) The Winners – Winners of the Flintshire Business Awards Apprenticeship Award – John Herbert from MPI Aviation Ltd, award winner Sean Finley from MPI Aviation Ltd and David Jones from Coleg Cambria (sponsor) Business Person of the Year – Paul Rutt, CEO of B2 Group, who also won Business of the Year up to 50 employees and Jonathan Turner from AGS Security Systems (Sponsor) Social and Community Award - Julie Cowley - North Wales Economic ambition Board, Skills & Employment (sponsor), Nicola Attewell and Victoria Burrows from DangerPoint (winners) Start-up award - Lee Browning and David Thomas from The Boardroom Climbing (Winner) and Jean Ellis from DSG (Sponsor) Business of the Year over 50 employees - Bob Nicholson from Pochin’s (sponsor), Dave Rothewell and Keith Mitchell from FTS Hatswell (winners) Environment Award – Steve Morgan from P&A Group (winner) and Jim O’Toole from The Port of Mostyn (sponsor) Business of the Year under 50 employees – Tom Smith from B2 Group (winner) and Graham Jones from the Federation of Small Businesses (sponsor) Exporter of the Year – Howard Jones and Janet Jones from Jones Environmental Laboratory (winner) and Mark Lewis from Knauf Insulation (sponsor)